DUI: Zero-Tolerance Law
Since the legal drinking age in Illinois is 21,
- Drivers under 21 are prohibited from driving with any trace of alcohol or drugs in their systems.
- If a person under 21 has any trace of alcohol in his or her system while operating a motor vehicle, he or she will face a 3-month license suspension.
- If a person under 21 refuses to submit to testing, he or she will face a 6-month license suspension.
- Under Illinois law, a person who possesses a fraudulent state ID card or a fraudulent driver’s license could be convicted of a Class 4 felony.
- Penalties include potential jail time (1-3 years in prison) and steep fines (up to $25,000).
- Don’t use a fake ID card for any purpose, including the underage purchase of alcohol.